• My account

Félicité-Laflamme-Hoffmann visiting research fellowships

Updated August 12, 2021


Three awards worth $2500 each


These awards are intended to provide financial support for researchers from outside of Québec who come here to do research in one or more facilities belonging to Bibliothèque et Archives nationales du Québec (BAnQ) to consult materials of a heritage nature.


For the purposes of the programme, the expression “researchers from outside of Québec” designates a researcher who is not a resident of Québec within the meaning of the Health Insurance Act (CQLR, c. A-29) and who is not domiciled in Québec. Candidates for the Félicité-Laflamme-Hoffmann fellowship are attached to a recognized institution of higher learning or research not located in Québec. They cannot submit the same project more than twice. During the length of their stay at BAnQ, they conduct research on an aspect or a component of the archival fonds and heritage collections of the institution. They take part, during or after their visit, in outreach activities related to their research. Researchers from outside of Québec who have been granted a fellowship under the Research support programme must wait four years before submitting a new project.


The BAnQ visiting research fellowship lasts a minimum of 20 days and a maximum of 120 days.

Application file

Due to the COVID-19 pandemic, evaluation of the Félicité-Laflamme-Hoffmann fellowship applications received before March 31, 2020 is postponed until spring 2022. New applications will not be considered this year.

Evaluation criteria

  • Suitability of the project given the objective of promoting BAnQ's fonds and collections;
  • Scientific quality of the research;
  • Outreach potential;
  • Quality and relevance of academic and professional career.


Examination of applications by jury members who will grant three visiting research fellowship


Three members, including a faculty member at a Québec university, and two BAnQ representatives.


Announcement of jury’s decision: No later than June 15, 2022
Start date of award: Between July 15, 2022 and March 1, 2023