At the turn of the 19th century, the development of vacation resorts spurred the expansion of the town of Sainte-Rose. Growing numbers of vacationers came there, first by train, then by automobile. Services and businesses concentrated on rue Principale, later named boulevard Sainte-Rose, proliferated in the town.
The decline of tourism in the 1950s altered the organization of the town. Motels and car dealers were established on boulevard Curé-Labelle. This big boulevard led to the shopping centres on the outskirts of Sainte-Rose when the amalgamation of the 13 municipalities on Île Jésus with that of Îles-Laval to create Laval in 1965 was under way.
Picturesque rue Principale and the surrounding area were readily recognizable by the elm trees growing along it. Most Sainte-Rose hotels and businesses were located on the street. Vers 1910
BAnQ, Centre d'archives de Québec
Collection Magella Bureau